

Scottish Touch Association AGM 2013 - Minute

Date: Saturday 15 February 2014 at 12.30

Venue: Woodside Sports Complex, Station Road, Aberdeen, AB24 2UL

Attendees: a quorum of over 30 members attended

- 1) President David Matthew welcomed all attendees to the AGM and thanked them for attending
- 2) Minute of previous AGM was approved as a correct record
- 3) Annual report David Matthew, STA President highlighted some key points from the Annual Report (report in full available on line)
- 4) Special Resolution

The 4 Regional Presidents or their delegates approved the following additions to the Articles of Association of the Scottish Touch Association Ltd (STA). The first two additions were required for the successful application to the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR) to allow the STA to assume Charitable Status. Assuming Charitable Status will assist in fundraising activities for the STA as well as enhancing its integrity and legitimacy. The third addition was to clarify the meaning behind the existing Articles in relation to the election of the Secretary and Treasurer.

First addition:

Purposes

- 2. The Company's purposes are to advance public participation in sport by:
- (a) providing the opportunity for anyone to play and enjoy Touch irrespective of location or ability;
- (b) attaining excellence in the Touch support network to develop the sport; and
- (c) making Scotland competitive in international Touch.

Second addition:

Winding-up

- 55. If the Company is to be wound up or dissolved, the winding-up or dissolution process will be carried out in accordance with the procedures set out under the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005 and the Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (Removal from Register and Dissolution) Regulations 2011.
- 56. Any surplus assets available to the Company immediately preceding its winding up or dissolution must be used for purposes which are the same as or which closely resemble the purposes of the Company as set out in these Articles

Third addition:

41. The Members in an annual general meeting shall elect:

(a) up to six Directors;

(b) a Secretary; and

(c) a Treasurer,

In each case from nominations made in accordance with article 35. No Director shall be entitled to serve more than six years continuously (unless he is elected separately as a President in terms of Article 54) but will be eligible for re-election after an interval of one year.

5) Election of Officials

The following were re-elected unopposed to their respective roles. The role of President was voted on by all members present, the other roles were voted on by the Regional Presidents or their nominated delegates only as per the Articles:

President – David Matthew Director of High Performance – Michael Short Director of Volunteers – Peter Faassen de Heer Treasurer – Hugh McMichael Senior Secretary – Ailsa Falconer

- 6) A short Question & Answer session was chaired by David Matthew
- 7) The AGM closed at 13.15 approx